Welcome to our Society, these are our aims

We would like to promote art and culture in Weimar by supporting the town’s museums and art collections. Of key significance to us is the development of art and design and our focus is on Bauhaus and Modernism. The gallery shows the broad spectrum covered by our purchases.

Our Society has been the venue for meetings of art enthusiasts since 1995. It is our aim to provide financial and moral backing for the art collections of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar. We do this by acquiring artworks that have been either donated or loaned on a permanent basis to the Klassik Stiftung. Since the Society was set up we have made possible the purchase of paintings, drawings, objects and assorted photographs to the value of approx. 2 million €. Outlay on acquisitions to date can be viewed in our list.

Since its foundation the Society has launched a series of ground-breaking initiatives, which included its early involvement in the conversion of Weimar Palace into a modern museum dedicated to art and life at the court. To this can be added the funding provided by the Society for the refurbishment and remodelling of the Neues Museum, in particular the Paul Maenz Collection.

Our current priority is the backing we are giving to the new Bauhaus Museum, scheduled to open in Weimar in 2015. Not long after its creation the Society had already identified its primary mission – to support the efforts being made to set up a new Bauhaus museum in Weimar. In the late 1990s the Society concluded in a feasibility study that a new Bauhaus museum should be constructed as a matter of urgency, a museum that could show off the growing number of Bauhaus works in an appropriate setting and one that was attractive to the museum-going public. This remains the Society’s No. 1 objective. It sees itself as a framework for all those who feel an affinity to Weimar and to the Bauhaus school and Modernism.

Thank you for the interest you have shown in our work and our objectives.



Zum 1. Vorsitzenden wurde Stephan Illert, Andrea Dietrich zur 2. Vorsitzenden, Prof. Dr. Karl Beucke zum 3. Vorsitzenden, Dr. Edgar Riedel zum Schatzmeister und Babett Gehrmann zur Schriftführerin gewählt. Weiterhin gehören Uwe Albus, Dieter Bauhaus, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Holler, Harald S. Liehr und Peter Mittmann dem Vorstand an. Beratende Vorstandsmitglieder sind Dr. Ulrike Bestgen, Manfred Ludewig und Hartmut Sieckmann.


Barry Bergdoll

Chief Curator of Architecture and Design at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York City

Katrin Göring-Eckardt MdB

Vorsitzende der Fraktion Bündnis 90/Die Grünen im Deutschen Bundestag, Berlin

Prof. Henrik R. Hanstein

Kunsthaus Lempertz, Köln

Prof. Dr. Wulf Herzogenrath


Manfred Ludewig


Hartmut Sieckmann (Vorsitz)

Minister a. D., Weimar

Carsten Schneider MdB

Stellv. Vorsitzender der SPD-Fraktion im Deutschen Bundestag, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Christoph Stölzl

Senator a. D., Präsident Hochschule für Musik »Franz Liszt«, Weimar

Antje Tillmann MdB

Finanzpolitische Sprecherin der CDU/CSU Fraktion im Deutschen Bundestag, Berlin

Dr. Nike Wagner

Künstlerische Leiterin des Beethoven-Festivals, Bonn

Stefan Wolf

Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Weimar